Much-awaited crypto bill missing from Monsoon Session of the Parliament

The Centre has listed 23 bills to be presented in the Lok Sabha during the forthcoming Monsoon Session that starts July 19 in the Parliament.

As per the tentative list of government legislative and financial business, out of 23, 6 bills have already been tabled whereas 17 will be new.

However, the much-anticipated Cryptocurrency Bill is not listed in the Lok Sabha bulletin and has been delayed. This is not the first time that the bill’s movement has been postponed. The Cryptocurrency and Regulation of Official Digital Currency Bill, 2021, (Crypto Bill) that intends to restrict all private cryptos, was previously listed for the Budget Session but couldn’t be presented. It was curtailed due to the second wave of the novel Coronavirus.

In January 2021, the Government of India stated that it will introduce a bill to create Indian digital currency and afterward ban all private cryptos in the market. Now that another delay in the way of the bill has happened the future of crypto remains uncertain in India. The government is yet to finalize the contours of the legislation.

The session will conclude on August 13 after having 19 sittings with both houses – the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha – remaining operational. Timings for the meeting of both the houses will be from 11 am – 6 pm daily with a 1-hour lunch break. For members who aren’t vaccinated yet, a negative RT-PCR test will be an absolute must.

Share & like

Leave a Reply